top of page

• First time ever on CD
• Re-mastered from the original tapes
• Plus 5 never released bonus tracks
• 8-Page booklet
• Complete album lyrics
• Liner notes by guitarist Mike Matney
• Limited to 500 copies worldwide



WHITE BOY AND THE AVERAGE RAT BAND formed in the small secluded Virginia mountain town Richlands around 1979 after guitarist and founder Mike Matney returned from a short stint with a band in Nashville, Tennessee. Once back home Matney began to put together his Average Rat Band consisting of bassist Tommy Altizer (R.I.P) , rhythm guitarist Seth Kelly and Tim Gilbert.

In 1980 the project was ready to go into a small local studio and record a slap of DIY heaviness. The 8-track album would see a modest release of 300 and limited distribution beyond the band’s means.

“Beyond all the vagueness lies a very confusing, very DIY-sounding Heavy Metal album that'll have you wondering the intentions from the get-go. Did these guys know how fucked up they were?” –Neon Christ (Vice News)

Jump forward several years and WHITE BOY AND THE AVERAGE RAT BAND was now an obscure memory, but the album the band released was beginning to be remembered, remembered and discovered by collectors worldwide who would be paying hundreds of dollars to get one of these pieces of wax in their collections. Every fan of post-punk and proto-metal would have this record topping their want-list.

“I think that one of the reasons people like this record is its isolated, alienated quality. It’s not an expression of anybody trying to get anywhere. Rather, it’s a raw power urge to make rock ‘n’ roll—a pure thing.” - Ron Garmon. (L.A. Record)


Black Sabbath, Scorpions, Budgie, UFO, Montrose, The Dictators


01. Prelude
02. Neon Warriors
03. Sector 387
04. Maybe I'm a Fool
05. The Prophet Song
06. Leaving Tonight on Vacation
07. Blue Moon
08. Oriental Doctor

WHITE BOY AND THE AVERAGE RAT BAND - White Boy and the Average Rat Band HHR054

SKU: 616892544647
    bottom of page