top of page


• Originally released in 1988
• Now for the first time on CD
• Fully remastered
• 9 solid melodic rock tracks
• Full color 12-page booklet
• Including photos & complete lyrics
• Limited to 500 copies worldwide



The band, (what would later become FATAL MAIM) began to be conceived in 1984 after founding members drummer Bob Watters and bassist John Scarfone (both with Altoona/Pittsburgh power-thrash metal band Giornesto) saw a band called ANACONDA playing one night at a club called Sebastiano's in Altoona, Pennsylvania. Watching the band they would discover lead singer Troy Earnest and his brother guitarist Jody Earnest. After witnessing the two perform, hearing Jody’s blistering leads and Troy’s soaring vocal delivery, Scarfine and Watters would be more than impressed.


It would still not be until 1986, after the ending of ANACONDA, until FATAL MAIM would fully come together. Additional guitarist Rich Piccerillo.who also served time in ANACONDA, would join the line-up.


Now as a five piece, the band began rehearsing in Scarfone's attic downtown on 11th street, later moving to Watter's garage on the other side of town. A couple more moves followed before the group finally set up permanent headquarters on the top floor of the Engine Room (what is now Dave Villani's Data Music Service Studios).


FATAL MAIM would keep a persistent practice schedule, rehearsing every other day. When the band started playing out, they quickly built a following and became regulars at local clubs such as the Engine Room, Sabs and Aldo's. The band also played their share of keg parties; most memorable was Kegfest, their first time playing together in public at the clubhouse of a popular Gun Camp. They also played some benefits at area fire halls.


After a while, the band seemingly played itself out. In 1988, Troy Earnest and Scarfone were recruited to help some of their friends/bandmates by working as lighting engineer/stage designers on tour with the pop band SIDEWALK ROMEO. This tour took them all over the New England area and into Canada.


Scarfone had brought a 4-track recorder, a drum machine and custom suitcase-size guitar on the road. Several of FATAL MAIM original songs were written while working in Nova Scotia and an extended stay in Canada due to weather, a week in Old Orchard Beach, Maine and another week long stint at William Henne's Management headquarters/band house in Ascutney, Vermont.

Not long after returning home with their stack of newly penned tunes, Scarfone and Earnest begin to revive the band. Everyone knuckled down and practiced 24/7, becoming tighter and faster while gaining a greater appreciation for the band, the members and its purpose.


FATAL MAIM’s next goal was to find a sponsor or financial backer and get into the studio to make a demo. Once in the studio, the band layed down out enough tunes to make a small album. They then set out on the road in 1991 on the "Molest and Maul Tour'' to promote the album "One Beyond The Grave." Copies of the album were only self produced and distributed on tour as the band rode the East Coast club circuit. The power-thrash metal album would never receive a proper release or gain any label support before slipping into obscurity.


FOR FANS OF: Heathen, Metal Church, Leige Lord & Powermad



01. Sin-o-Rama

02. Molest and Maul

03. Aftermath

04. One Beyond the Grave

05. For Every Evil

06. Peace with the Maker

07. Missing Pieces

08. No Tomorrow

09. Rescue 



10. Fat Chance (warm-up Recording with SoundFX)

11. Missing Pieces (live)

12. Peace with the Maker (live)

13. Victim (4-track demo)

FATAL MAIM - One Beyond the Grave HHR154

SKU: 685747060823
    bottom of page