top of page


• First time on CD

• Remastered from the best sources available

• 8-page booklet with complete lyrics

• New artwork by Steve Cobb

• Limited to 500 copies worldwide



CHINA WHITE has not been allusive to us, as a matter of fact, we have been aware of this band for several years. It was only a matter of time until Heaven and Hell Records would see this material reissued and expose it to a new audience.

CHINA WHITE first came together in 1985 from various places in the Rockingham and Guilford county areas of North Carolina. The band would be formed by vocalist Danny Hazlip, guitar duo J.K. Wilkins and Anthony Fincher, bassist Matt DeRemer and drummer Bubba Davenport

Like most groups, CHINA WHITE would begin as a cover band playing several of the hard rock and heavy metal standards by all the usual suspects. This would be par for the course if a band wanted to get gigs in most clubs. CHINA WHITE would play up and down the East Coast club circuit. Eventually growing tired of playing the songs of other bands, they began to compose their own material. This could not have been timed any better as the regional live music scene was beginning to become more accommodating to original bands. These songs would be shuffled into their sets eventually taking the place of any cover songs.

As CHINA WHITE’s popularity began to grow the band began to pick up opening slots for a variety of national touring acts such as 38 Special, The Marshall Tucker Band, Kix, Nantucket, Saraya, Hurricane, Masi, The Byrds, Head East and others. They would also headline many shows that gave a stage to showcase up and coming bands from the area. Although CHINA WHITE’s run would be brief and only see one self-released 6-song EP called “Eye for An Eye” in 1989. The cassette-only release sold very well leading to several additional re-stocks. But Inevitable CHINA WHITE would begin to run into all the similar and all too familiar issues that most bands did going into the next decade. As the 1990s began to roll along and heavy metal started to fall out of fashion CHINA WHITE would end. Hazlip would try to recreate the band and even record with a different line-up but this would not be the same band or direction and the material would not be released. Eventually, the name would fade into obscurity and be only a footnote in the history of North Carolina hard rock and heavy metal. But to those that had heard the band, seen them live or got to work with them, the name CHINA WHITE would be fondly remembered and well respected.


FOR FANS OF: Savatage, Metal Church, Malice & Judas Priest



01. Ball of Wax

02. Night Rose 04:04

03. Sunlight is Starlight

04. Hellish Reign

05. Another Time

06. Eye for An Eye

CHINA WHITE - Eye for An Eye HHR135

SKU: 685747 058929
    bottom of page